Thank You


One more.  I also composed this one in college.  The sentiments expressed herein aren’t ones I’m permitted to feel often, but they’re nonetheless valid, and worthy of the wish to feel them more often.

Thank You

Monday morning, an alarm clock buzzes loudly in my ear.
Monday morning, my dream suddenly vanishes.
Monday morning, my fingers grope for the button.
Monday morning, I push the button and the alarm clock ceases.
I drift off to sleep.

Monday morning, my alarm clock buzzes its disapproval.
Monday morning, my dream suddenly vanishes.
In the cold, I count the hours of sleep.
Monday morning, my fingers grope for the button.
Monday morning, I push the button and my alarm clock ceases.
I drift off to sleep.

Monday morning, my alarm clock buzzes.
Monday morning, I press the button on my alarm clock.
Monday morning, sleep dust scratches my eyeballs.
Monday morning, I rustle the covers and turn on some music.
Monday morning, I sit in bed with my eyes closed.
Monday morning, I wrestle with the decision to get up.

My alarm clock sounds.

Monday morning, I rub the dust away.
I open my eyes.
Monday morning, I am amazed–

When I know the glory of the Creator
as he paints onto the world
yet another beautiful day.

Monday morning, I stretch the tiredness from my muscles.
Monday morning, the sky is blue and the grass is growing.
Monday morning, white flowers have appeared on the oleander bush.
Mist has adorned the wolf spider webs.
Monday morning, the trees spread their leaves for the pleasure of our eyes.
Birds flutter to and fro, shaking the mosaic branches.

Monday morning, a train glides by, greeting the neighborhood.
Monday morning, the house next door is white and tan.
Monday morning, cool air stirs my room from the open window.
The city is breathing in long easy gasps.

Monday morning, I remember the beautiful music of yesterday.
I remember the harmonies of the choir.
Monday morning, I remember the covenants I’ve made.
I remember the rewards of doing good work.
Monday morning, I think of the lessons I’m here to learn.

Monday morning, I rejoice to be on Earth.

2 thoughts on “Thank You

What are your thoughts on this?

